Uncategorized

Cosmo and Subversion

R– and V– met with me at lunch today to talk about experimental fiction. I am delighted by their enthusiasm, and imagine they will go far with their creative endeavours if they choose to continue with them. V– admitted to having to spend the lunch hour to cram for a presentation in the next block, and said that he wanted to ironize the assignment by making up an artist named Cosmo and performing a high-falutent analysis of his “work” (stock images of children’s drawings) until the analysis devolved into meaningless abstract jargon. Although I am often a stickler for rules, especially when it comes to completely summative assignments, I relished at the idea of consulting on such a rebellious and experimental endeavour; so, R– and I obliged to give V– a hand.

V– presented second in this class and played new wave jazz while he delivered his powerpoint. His delivery was immaculate — and the intended satire of the project was apparent to the class and, perhaps most importantly, his teacher, who wailed with laughter throughout.

I feel very much inspired to encourage my future students of English and Creative writing to subvert and mock that which they think is arbitrary or unjust. The vigour, enthusiasm and thought V– put into the completion of this project may have been rushed, but their sincerity was greatly apparent.

Leave a comment